URSB Uganda Registration Services Bureau.

What are Collective Management Organizations (CMOs)?

UPRS is a CMO regulated by URSB.

It is registered with the Registrar of Companies as a Company Limited by guarantee having no share Capital, in other words, it belongs to all of its members.

CMOs are Collective Management Organizations established by owners of Copyright to protect and enforce their economic rights. CMO’s have the following responsibilities, among others;

1.  License users of works

2.  Collect revenue from users

3.  Carry out public awareness

4.  Act as agents for their Members

4.  Pay royalties to their members

5.  Make reciprocal arrangements with foreign management organizations



CISAC – The International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers.  

UPRS is a Member of the Confederation of International Societies of Authors and Composers ( CISAC ).

CISAC – is the world’s leading network of authors’ societies.

With 239 member societies in 122 countries, CISAC represents more than 4 million creators from all geographic areas and all artistic repertoires; music, audiovisual, drama, literature, and visual arts.



WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization

What is WIPO?
WIPO is the global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information, and cooperation. We are a self-funding agency of the United Nations, with 191 member states.

Our mission is to lead the development of a balanced and effective international intellectual property (IP) system that enables innovation and creativity for the benefit of all. Our mandate, governing bodies, and procedures are set out in the WIPO Convention, which established WIPO in 1967.



ARIPO African Regional Intellectual Property Organization

UPRS is a member of ARIPO

According to Article IV of the Lusaka Agreement that created ARIPO, membership in the Organization is open to States which are members of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) or of the African Union (AU).

Member States

There are currently 19 States which are party to the Lusaka Agreement and therefore members of ARIPO. These are Botswana, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. (Total: 19 Member States.)